Scottish Nationalism

“Love of a country /Begins as attachment to our own field of action /And comes to find that action of little importance” ts eliot

Surely we can all see the pure wrongness of nationalism? Always used by politicians to stir the dregs of our psyche .. all to keep them in power. Wrung from the pain or ordinary folk.

Hitler. Putin. Stalin. We all know where these forms of nationalism ended.

.. but what about Scotland? What is the point of this form of nationalism anyway? That would risk the opening of this Pandora’s Box? Independence. From what? For what? To do what?

It sure stirs me up, Down to the sewers of my psyche. The buttons they push evoke my Englishness. I absolutely loathe the jingoistic feeling that Scots Nastiness evokes. I refuse to become an English Nationalist in response to Scottish nationalism.

I hold that love of country is attachment to our own little field of action, and I hold this to be of little importance compared to. For instance..

Climate change. Poverty. Materialism. Humanity itself.

T

Leave a comment